Skip Navigation
Michigan Business PortalMichigan.gov, official portal for the State of Michigan
Michigan.gov Home
  • One Stop Home
  • Contact Us
  • Site Map
  • close print view

    Boiler Repairer License

    Agency: Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

    The Bureau of Construction Codes, Boiler Division of the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs issues


    A. NAME OF PERMIT OR APPROVAL:

    Boiler Repairer License

    B. STATUTORY AUTHORITY:

    Boiler Act of 1965, 1965 PA 290

    C. APPLICABLE REGULATION:

    Boiler Code Rules

    D. SUMMARY OF PERMIT/APPROVAL PROCESS:

     1.  Applicability (activities that require the permit)

    Boiler Repairer License

    ·         A class I license allows a licensee to repair a boiler by means other than welding, riveting, or other fabrication process.

    ·         A class II license allows a licensee to repair a low pressure boiler, a hot water supply boiler, and a fire tube boiler of any pressure and to perform work covered by a class I license.

    ·         A class III license allows a licensee to repair a water tube boiler designed for a maximum allowable working pressure of not more than 700 psi and a boiler covered by a class II license.

    ·         A class IV license allows a licensee to repair or field-erect a boiler of any pressure, except for a boiler that has a nuclear heat source. A licensee who field-erects boilers shall be in the employ of a company in possession of the appropriate ASME code symbol stamps for the type of boiler being erected.

    ·         A class V license allows a licensee to erect and repair a boiler that has a nuclear heat source or its parts, appurtenances, or system components. Before a license is issued, an applicant for a class V license shall give evidence of familiarity with and knowledge of all federal rules and regulations regarding the construction of a boiler that has a nuclear heat source and shall be employed by a company in possession of a valid ASME "N" type symbol stamp applicable to those portions of any nuclear boiler system he or she proposes to repair.

     2.  Pre-Application Requirements

    Rule 119. (1) An application for a boiler repairer's license shall be on a form provided by the boiler division of the department. The applicant shall state the name of the business, firm, partnership, or corporation that the applicant intends to represent in the business of repairing boilers and shall give evidence of his or her past experience in the repair of boilers and evidence of his or her workmanship and engineering skills that would qualify the applicant for examination and licensing.

    (2) An applicant for a boiler repairer's license shall have at least 5 years of experience in all phases of boiler repair in the class of license for which the applicant is applying. A credit of 3 years of experience towards the 5 years of experience will be given for 3 years of experience in the design, construction, manufacture, or inspection of boilers.

    (3) The boiler division of the department may verify repairs required to be reported on the application to establish the applicant's minimum practical repair experience in the applicant's desired license classification. Copies of the boiler division inspection reports of the repairs shall be made part of the application.

     3.  Application Submission Requirements

    Rule 122. (1) An applicant for a boiler repairer's license shall state the name of the business, firm, partnership, or corporation under which he or she intends to carry on the business of repairing boilers before a license will be issued. The applicant may be the owner, a partner, an officer of a corporation, or a supervisory employee of the business, firm, partnership, or corporation legally registered with the state.

    (2) A person shall not engage in repairing boilers under the name of more than 1 business at any one time.

    Application for Boiler Repairer's Examination

     4.  Procedures and Time-Frame for Obtaining Permit or Approval

    Examinations are offered quarterly: March, June, September and December, on the first Wednesday and/or Thursday of the month.

    Applications must be received in this office 30 days prior to the examination date.

     5.  Operational Requirements

    Rule 125. (1) A boiler repairer's license shall be renewed annually upon payment of a fee as prescribed by R 408.4038.

    (2) A repairer's license shall expire on December 31 of each year and shall be renewed. An application for renewal shall be submitted to the boiler division of the department between September 30 and December 31. A license that is not renewed by January 1 shall be voided and may be reinstated only upon application for reinstatement and payment of both the renewal fee and a reinstatement fee of $75.00. A person requesting renewal of a license within 3 years after the license is voided pursuant to this subrule is not subject to reexamination for the license, but shall pay both the reinstatement fee and the annual license renewal fee for the current renewal year. A person who fails to renew a license for 3 consecutive years shall meet the requirements of, and take an examination for, the class of license sought.

    (3) A licensee who changes business affiliation shall notify the chief inspector, on a form provided by the boiler division of the department, of the name and address of the new business affiliate under which the licensee intends to use his or her license. A fee of $20.00 shall accompany the notification form.

     6.  Fees

    Repairer Exam $100.00

    Repairer License $80.00

    Repairer Renewal $80.00

     7.  Appeal Process

    408.772 Appeal to board.

    Sec. 22.

    A person who is aggrieved by an order or act of the director or the chief inspector within 15 days' notice after the order or act, may appeal the order or act to the board. The board, within 30 days, shall issue an appropriate order either approving or disapproving the order or act. A copy of the order of the board shall be given to all interested parties.

     8.  Public Input Opportunities

    Comments and Complaints: bccinfo@michigan.gov

    Bureau of Construction Codes Web-site: www.michigan.gov/bcc 


    E. Contact Information:

    Contact Us


    Revised: 12/2013

    QR code

    Michigan.gov Home
  • State Web Sites
  • Site Map

  • Privacy Policy
  • Link Policy
  • Accessibility Policy
  • Security Policy
  • Michigan NewsMichigan.gov Survey

    Copyright © 2001-2014 State of Michigan